Q&A: May

As I sit here in my boyfriend’s hoodie watching Grey’s, I feel now would be an appropriate moment for a life recap.

Around the middle of the month I accepted a job offer as a Sales Associate for Macy’s.  I’ve always wanted retail experience, plus a nice discount sweetens the deal.  The catch? It’s commission only.  I couldn’t even begin to explain how it works.  On top of that I get paid weekly; that I haven’t been too keen on.  Turns out I’m a pretty good salesman.  I’ve outsold most people who’ve been working there for years.  Guess I’m a natural.

So where does this get wrong?  EVERYWHERE.  Scheduling is insane.  Coworkers asking for shifts to be covered.  An idiotic associate discount program.  Since March, I’ve been looking for another job.  I’m sorry, but I just can stay anywhere long.  If I don’t like it, I bounce.  There shouldn’t be a penalty for wanting to leave someplace that makes you unhappy.  Sadly, there’s a social stigma from jumping from job to job.  Shows lack of commitment.  Sorry, my commitment is to my education; if my employer can’t understand that, deuces.

As of earlier this week, I accepted a position as a CA in student housing for my community college.  Yes, my community college offers student housing- in the form of apartments.  I pretty much do office work (LOVE) a couple days a week, create programs to promote community (LOOVE), all while living in a two-bedroom apartment rent-free (LOOOOOOOVE).  This job had my name all over it.  I am a people person, even though I don’t like to admit it.  I like planning things.  Also, I feel I was a secretary in a past life because office work fulfills me.  Maybe that was too far, I enjoy it a lot more than anything else I’ve done.  That will be most of my summer, so expect my blog to pick up in terms of content.

Let’s see what else…

School is well, school.  I successfully accomplished missing only one day of class this semester.  That has never happened in my last five years as a college student.  (On a side note, that should be my damn profession: Professional College Student.)  Anyway, I told myself I could do it.  Then again, if I didn’t go to class someone would be on my ass…  Regardless, I’ve enjoyed this semester.  But, I’m ready to go back to school.  I cannot wait to transfer to the school I probably should have went to in the first place.

If I did that, I probably wouldn’t have met my amazing boyfriend!  We celebrated three months in April!  I unofficially surprised him with tickets to one of our favorite bands next week.  Yea, I’m a keeper.  Yesterday, I fully dropped my guard and acted a complete fool around him.  One of the best days I’ve had in awhile.  Things just keep getting better with him.  He’s the one thing that manages to pull me together when everything seems like it’s falling apart.

We all need someone that can put things in perspective for us.

Leave a Reply

