How Over-Thinkers Adjust

I’ve realized I have a hard time adjusting.  Or assimilating and accommodating as my educational psychology book puts it. 

I choose to follow the blind guidance of my experiences to lead me through crisis resolution.  Well, there’s a huge plot hole in my script- how can I base my reactions on experiences I’ve never faced.  Even worse, I try to apply past knowledge to current situations only for them to blow up in my face.  It’s me lighting the fuse to the bomb in my hands.

You tend to feel stupid.  Out of control.  Out of touch.  That what you think is happening (or will happen) isn’t.  You’re proven wrong.  The routine you’ve relied on to get you through this ordeal has been rendered useless- and that’s what hurts the most.

That your standard for thinking has been challenged and you were beat.

As someone who over-thinks what constitutes as a light meal, that’s a death blow to ones mind.  It’s not about being right.  It’s not about feeling good about the outcome.  It’s about resolve.  When a resolution can’t be reached after crunching all possibilities, being left with “I don’t know what to do, next” isn’t suitable.  It drives us fucking nuts.

We’re knowledge sponges.  We take natural curiosity and give it wings.  That’s right, we’re mental RedBull.  We just have to know everything about anything.  Know-it-all’s just give us a bad name.

Who knows, I may just be speaking for myself here, but if you are the spouse/partner/fuck buddy/friend of an over-thinker here is how you ease their Restless Mind Syndrome:

BE UP FRONT.

Save us the agony of lost sleep and tell us straight up if we pry and question.  It breaks the cycle so it never begins.  That little moment is food for our brains; we feed on information.

We may be a little overbearing at times, but we mean no harm.  We just want to get to know you.

Every.last.detail.

A|A

Leave a Reply

