what’s in a name

“It’s just a name, a name, a name, a name, what’s in a name?” – What’s in a Name, The Airborne Toxic Event

I struggled with the thought of changing this blog’s name. It is a little contradictory considering how I am still in college, albeit a different college. The fact still remains that I left my old university. I packed up my things, left my friends, and wrote this chapter in my book of failures.

I dropped out.

Did I have my reasons? Well, of course. Did I decide to continue this academic, and expensive, journey? Damn right. School is what I’ve know for almost 20 years. It’s been my occupation since I was four. Being promoted to college straight out of high school, I didn’t have a grasp on working-life. At 22, I knew that I didn’t want to just work. I always did things half-assed, I didn’t want this to be one of them. I mean, this is my life we’re talking about.

Even still, with about five years of college education under my belt, and five years of associated experiences, I wasn’t sure how I was going to navigate this part of my life.  It was a set back that no one would have foreseen.

But, I’m here.  And here isn’t where I thought I’d be.

Maybe that’s why I chose this name, idroppedout.  Because it reminds me of my past; a time I both cherished and despised.  Because it is a truth I need to be reminded of.  Not of my failure, but of my resolve.

I dropped out of school– not life as I know it.

Leave a Reply

